Frequently asked question

An online platform will be opened in July 2019 on our website

By signing up for our monthly newsletter on our website

The Youth Olympic Games are the ultimate multi-sports event for young athletes, but they are more than just competing and performing. They are about learning important skills, connecting to other cultures and celebrating the Olympic values of excellence, friendship and respect. The Youth Olympic Games are essentially about competing, learning and sharing.

The mission of the YOG is to shape and influence the athletes and other young participants, to prepare them to become ambassadors of Olympism, of sport and of a healthy lifestyle so they can take on an active role in their community.

The YOG were created at the initiative of the former President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC), Jacques Rogge. His idea was approved unanimously by the IOC members at their Session in July 2007 In Guatemala City. The 1st Summer YOG were held in Singapore, in August 2010. The 1st Winter YOG were held in Innsbruck, in January 2012.

The objective of the YOG is to encourage young people around the world to practice sport; raise awareness of and encourage them to adopt the values of Olympism; and disseminate the message of the Olympic Movement around them.

The YOG are for the world’s young athletes aged from 15 to 18. Like the OG, they are held every four years, and are held in the same year as the OG with the Summer YOG taking place the same year as the Olympic Winter Games and vice-versa. Note that following the approval of Agenda 2020 by the IOC Session in December 2014, in the future the organisation of the YOG will move to an non-Olympic year, starting with the 4th Summer Youth Olympic Games, which will be postponed from 2022 to 2023.

The next Winter YOG will be held in Lausanne (Switzerland), from 9 to 22 January 2020.For the first time in the history of the Olympics, the Youth Olympic Games are binational (Switzerland – France).

Lausanne 2020 official website:

1880 athletes from over 80 countries, with absolute equality between the number of men and women.

There are eight winter sports:
– Luge (FIL)
– Skiing (FIS)
– Bobsleigh (IBSF)
– Biathlon (IBU)
– Skating (ISU)
– Curling (WCF)
– Alpine Skiing (ISMF)
– Ice Hockey (IIHF)

These include 16 disciplines (with 81 challenges)
– Biathlon
– Bobsleigh
– Nordic Combined
– Curling
– Ice Hockey
– Luge
– Figure Skating
– Alpine Skiing
– Cross Country Skiing
– Snowboard
– Speed Skating
– Short Track Speed Skating
– Ski Jumping
– Skeleton
– Acrobatic Skiing
– Freestyle Skiing

The YOG Lausanne 2020 will take place at eight different competition locations. These are:
– Lausanne : ice hockey, figure skating, short track speed skating
– Vallée de Joux : cross country skiing
– Les Tuffes (jura, France) : ski jumping, biathlon and nordic combined
– Villars : alpine skiing, snowboard, freestyle skiing
– Leysin : snowboard, freestyle skiing
– Les Diablerets : alpine skiing
– Champéry : curling
– St Moritz : speed skating, bobsleigh, skeleton and luge